Published on

Day 31

Authors
  • avatar
    Name
    Michal Gornicki
    Twitter

Last Friday I was doing my research and today I am still doing it. I am almost about to start a new article 🤏. There is nothing else to report 🤷‍♂️.

I was thinking about it and I will not make entries into the journal just for the sake of it. That would water it down unnecessarily.

I have decided that in the future, if I will have to read, watch, etc. for a few days in a row, then I will make an entry on the day I started and then when I ended the research. There is no point in making an entry like "Still researching". It makes no sense whatsoever.

However, if something interesting happens (maybe not even related to the internship), then I will write about it. For example 👇

Almost every day I notice that I was institutionalised to work in the "clock in, clock out" type of work.

Don't get me wrong, I am still loving it but there are moments where I am finding it difficult to switch between work and off duty and I am not sure why 🤷‍♂️.

This mindset is that you go elsewhere for work and then when you come back it means you are home (you leave work behind).

Well, that does not exist with the remote job. Even though I have a designated area for work there are days when I feel that I am still at work even though I have finished.

I guess I don't help myself. Especially when I spend a few hours in front of the computer and I have nothing to show for it. Then, in my head creeps in this thought that I wasn't working hard enough and I should put more time into my assignment/task.

One thing to put extra hours in when you deal with an interesting topic. There is that excitement. When you do it because you feel that you have to...

There is another bit of remote work that I need to figure out.

When you are in the office then you can talk to someone, maybe bounce an idea or just for pure gossip. At home... Kids are in school(can't complain about that one 😉), my better half is at work. It is sometimes very lonely and quiet. Maybe I need a pet that I can talk to 🤔?

That's all from me today. I may be doing entries like that in the future. Just to get it off the chest, to help digest.

Whoever is reading that and has a solution or wish to bounce some ideas then leave a comment in the section below 👇.

Over and out ✌️.