Published on

Week 10

Authors
  • avatar
    Name
    Michal Gornicki
    Twitter

I know. There is a gap in my journal and that is not good.

I 've got to be honest. Last week and the end of the week before were rough.

I allowed my assignment to get the better of me and it activated my low self-esteem.

When you are working remotely then it is only you and your thoughts in the room. If you allow "bad juju" to take control, then this is a recipe for bloody disaster.

A few years back I suffered from depression and ever since, from time to time IT comes back like bad breath. Thankfully, I am getting better at recognizing the symptoms, but not that good.

I got caught last week 🤷‍♂️ but I am on the mend.

It usually helps to go back to being active. It really helps a lot. My "medicine" is cycling and walking. Plan is to do one day cycling and the next day walking. I will try to do it for 6 days with one day of recovery every week. Will see how long 🤞.

Now, I will give you a recap of what happened over the past seven working days 😉.

Last week I had enough of daily Pop!_OS crashes and Window's blue screens. I decided to go full on Linux. No more dual boot.

I gave Pop!_OS another chance and I must say that for now everything works without any issues 🤞. Don't want to jinx it.

When I was reinstalling everything I was following my own posts 😁 and everything works as it should. It indicates that instructions are solid 😀.

Last week I had a visit from my lecturer - Aine. Unfortunately, it was only a virtual meeting with her, me and my brother. I say, unfortunately, because it would be nice to just sit down together, have a coffee of tea and have a conversation. It wasn't too bad. Time went by very fast. Aine wished to know how we are doing and remind me that I need to start thinking about my end of internship report.

After the meeting, Lukasz said: "Jeez, you are a talker" 😆 Well, what can I say. I like to talk to people. 🤷‍♂️.

Also, after the meeting he suggested that if my journal is to help others then I should not make gaps.

Fair point. That was my main reason to go publicly with my internship journal (which is totally against my nature) to share my ups and downs. That it is ok to struggle and that it is a part of the process. Main thing I learned is that we need to talk about these efforts and if necessary - ask for help. Especially if you work remotely. Don't allow negative thoughts to pull you away from your goals.

He sent me a link to watch and I recommend it 👉 Do It ! I never saw it before.

Up until he sent me that clip, I was using Jocko Motivation, it really helps to "reload, re-calibrate, re-engage" 👍.

Regarding my internship. I am currently on the last stretch for that assignment that kicked my ass. It is about "Website rendering for beginners".

The sheer volume of material is really overwhelming. I am not surprised that some people are having meltdowns. But that is not the worst part. What I found worse that amount of material is changing naming. You will find yourself reading one material and then another. Both will be talking about this same operation but sometimes using different names for these same processes 🤦‍♂️. That is confusing, and if you are a beginner, just starting I can totally understand that it may be frustrating.

Don't worry. Just stick to a plan. One bit of material at the time. Don't rush. Slowly but forward.

Oh, totally forgot. I got myself a little helper to give me a bit of the force 😉 to tackle future scuffles.

Vadda

Now, the usual.

If you find this journal useful, or you wish to reach out, or you need to talk, please do not hesitate and leave your comment in the section below 👇.